IMSA Announces 2019 Schedule; New Series Name

IMSA, the governing body of the Continental Tire SportsCar Challenge has released the 2019 schedule. The series will visit the same ten tracks as the current season. Daytona and Watkins Glen will remain the two four-hour events, with the rest of the events running for the traditional two hours.

Date Track
January 25 Daytona International Speedway (4 hours)
March 15 Sebring International Raceway
May 4 Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
June 29 Watkins Glen International (4 hours)
July 6 Canadian Tire Motorsport Park
July 20 Lime Rock Park
August 3 Road America
August 24 Virginia International Raceway
September 14 WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca
October 11 Road Atlanta

Additionally IMSA announced the new name for the series, the Michelin Pilot Challenge (MPC). Michelin is the new sponsor for the series, hence the name change. Look for the field to also be fielding Michelin tires.

The biggest difference next season, as far as the MINI JCW Team is concerned, is that there will no longer be an ST class. So what will happen to the MINI JCW Team?

Last we heard BMW had shifted focus from developing a MINI TCR car to a BMW TCR car. This being despite the fact that LAP motorsports had started development of a TCR car, which we reported on here and here.

Team owner Luis Perocarpi has hinted that they will indeed be in MPC, but will it be with MINIs? We hope to have answers on this for you soon.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.